UEFA Women's EURO 2017 finals: all you need to know

All you need to know about UEFA Women's EURO 2017 in the Netherlands.

Women's EURO 2017 - general view
©Getty Images

UEFA Women's EURO 2017 kicked off in the Netherlands on 16 July. Here is all you need to know about the expanded 16-team, 31-match spectacular ...

Who is taking part?

Here are the groups ...

Group A: Netherlands, Norway, Denmark, Belgium
Group B: Germany, Sweden, Italy, Russia
Group C: France, Iceland, Austria, Switzerland
Group D: England, Scotland, Spain, Portugal

Belgium, Austria, Switzerland, Scotland and Portugal qualified for the first time.

Who is in the squads?

All the squads are now published on UEFA.com

How does the competition work?

The top two teams in each group will progress to the knockout phase.

Qualified for the quarter-finals: Denmark, Netherlands

When are the games?

They began on 16 July with the opening games in Group A , with Group B starting the next day and so on. The group stage ends on 27 July and two days later the knockout stage commences with the quarter-finals. The final is on 6 August in Enschede.

Where can I watch the games on TV

Our full guide to worldwide TV coverage of the tournament with streaming on UEFA.com and UEFA.tv where there are no rights holders.

Where are the games?

There are seven venues ...

Breda: Rat Verlegh Stadion (group games 17, 20, 23, 26 July; semi-final 3 August)
Deventer: Stadion De Adelaarshorst (group games 18, 21, 24, 27 July; quarter-final 30 July)
Doetinchem: Stadion De Vijverberg (group games 16, 19, 22, 25 July; quarter-final 29 July)
Enschede: FC Twente Stadion (semi-final 3 August; final 6 August)
Rotterdam: Sparta Stadion (group games 17, 20, 23, 26 July; quarter-final 29 July)
Tilburg: Willem II Stadion (group games 18, 21, 24, 27 July; quarter-final 30 July)
Utrecht: Stadion Galgenwaard (group games 16, 19, 22, 25 July)

How can I get tickets?

Tickets are on sale now from bit.ly/WEUROtickets.

How can I follow on social media?

We are building up to the tournament on the official @UEFAWomensEURO accounts on Twitter and Facebook. Use #WEURO2017 to join the conversation.

Who have won the tournament in the past?

2013: Germany
2009: Germany
2005: Germany
2001: Germany
1997: Germany
1995: Germany
1993: Norway
1991: Germany
1989: West Germany
1987: Norway
1984: Sweden

Anything else to know?

During the tournament, UEFA – in collaboration with social responsibility partners the World Heart Federation and Hartstichting in the Netherlands – is promoting 'healthy hearts', with the goal of increasing awareness of the importance of sport and encouraging children, women and fans in general to be more active in their everyday lives. Cardiovascular disease remains the first cause of premature deaths among women.

'Together #WePlayStrong' campaign

UEFA is aiming to make football the number one women's particpation sport across Europe within five years. The focus is on growing participation to achieve this and will be built around a campaign called 'Together #WePlayStrong'. It focuses on three key pillars that showcase the best of the game: skill, togetherness and positive attitude. The campaign was launched ahead of the UEFA Women's Champions League final and will be at the heart of UEFA's editorial coverage of Women's EURO.

Group stage (KO CET):
Sunday 16 July: Group A
Netherlands 1-0 Norway (Utrecht)
Denmark 1-0 Belgium (Doetinchem)

Monday 17 July: Group B
Italy 1-2 Russia (Rotterdam)
Germany 0-0 Sweden (Breda)

Tuesday 18 July: Group C
Austria 1-0 Switzerland (Deventer)
France 1-0 Iceland (Tilburg)

Wednesday 19 July: Group D
Spain 2-0 Portugal (Doetinchem)
England 6-0 Scotland (Utrecht)

Thursday 20 July: Group A
Norway 0-2 Belgium (Breda)
Netherlands 1-0 Denmark (Rotterdam)

Friday 21 July: Group B
Sweden 2-0 Russia (Deventer)
Germany 2-1 Italy (Tilburg)

Saturday 22 July: Group C
Iceland 1-2 Switzerland (Doetinchem)
France 1-1 Austria (Utrecht)

Sunday 23 July: Group D
Scotland 1-2 Portugal (Rotterdam)
England 2-0 Spain (Breda)

Monday 24 July: Group A
Belgium 1-2 Netherlands (Tilburg)
Norway 0-1 Denmark (Deventer)

Tuesday 25 July: Group B
Russia v Germany (Utrecht) 20:45
Sweden v Italy (Doetinchem) 20:45

Wednesday 26 July: Group C
Switzerland v France (Breda) 20:45
Iceland v Austria (Rotterdam) 20:45

Thursday 27 July: Group D
Portugal v England (Tilburg) 20:45
Scotland v Spain (Deventer) 20:45

Saturday 29 July
Netherlands v Runner-up B (QF1, Doetinchem) tbc
Winner B v Denmark (QF2, Rotterdam) tbc

Sunday 30 July
Winner C v Runner-up D (QF3, Tilburg) tbc
Winner D v Runner-up C (QF4, Deventer) tbc

Thursday 3 August

QF1 v QF4 (Enschede) tbc
QF2 v QF3 (Breda) tbc

Sunday 6 August (Enschede) 17:00


Past finals
UEFA European Women's Championship
2013: Germany 1-0 Norway; Solna, Sweden
2009: Germany 6-2 England; Helsinki, Finland
2005: Germany 3-1 Norway; Blackburn, England
2001: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Ulm, Germany
1997: Germany 2-0 Italy; Oslo, Norway
1995: Germany 3-2 Sweden; Kaiserslautern, Germany
1993: Norway 1-0 Italy; Cesena, Italy
1991: Germany 3-1 Norway (aet); Aalborg, Denmark
UEFA European Competition for Representative Women's Teams
1989: West Germany 4-1 Norway; Osnabruck, West Germany
1987: Norway 2-1 Sweden; Oslo, Norway
1984: Sweden 1-1 England (4-3 pens); two legs, Gothenburg and Luton